Book Review: The Flavour Thesaurus – Niki Segnit

28 Dec

flavour1  flav3

I have had this book on my wishlist for more than a year, but this year my husband bought it for me as a Christmas present. The book is loosely based around the notion of a foodie version of a colour wheel, with different foods fitting into different ‘flavour groups’. The Flavour Thesaurus was the winner of  the André Simon Prize and Guild of Food Writers Best First Book and has received rave reviews from the likes of John Torode and Atul Kochhar (who, and this is of no relevance whatsoever, was spotted by my parents in an airport..)

What I really liked about this book was the back-stories of the food pairings – the little cultural/historical tales of how these foods came to be paired together or where they originate. This isn’t designed to be a cookbook, or a book which teaches you to cook. Instead it aims to suggest effective food pairings to give you the confidence to go ahead and create! I  love how the book looks – the colours on the cover are beautiful and the pink page edges are a welcome change from the usual white or worse, beige! There are also recipes scattered throughout the book. I think I will be trying out the Fitzrovia baked chicken and Pear and cinnamon sweet couscous as soon as I can.

The book is available on Amazon here, currently at £11.01 delivered!

Leave a comment